Irish Winter poker Festival headed for Dublin

For the third successive year, the Paddy Power Poker will be held at Dublin’s Burlington Hotel in October this year. The poker festival will run for four days (October 26th to 29th) with the main event featuring the €1,000 + €125 buy-in No-limit Hold’em Irish Masters as the main event. In addition, to the event, there will be other side events taking place during the festival. The festival is traditionally held in the Month of October from the 27th to the 29th. Last year, the winner John Keown walked away with a cash prize of $141,703.


The festival is known for attracting big names and definitely this year will be no exception. Big names expected to feature in this year include Eoghan O’Dea, who earned an impressive $1,720,831 by finishing at the sixth position in last year’s World Series of Poker (WSOP held at Las Vegas. Irish open main event champion Neil Channing and One time WSOP bracelet winner Marty Smyth  who also won in the Irish Open raking in €3,300 buy-in No-limit Holde’m Freeze out  for $867,546 in 2007 are also expected to feature in the competition.

Everyone admires Niall Smyth

Smyth has built a strong reputation in this poker festival. He was off-course the sole survivor to bag the lucrative sponsorship worth €100,000, and also won the Irish Open main event crown.  This is achievement is pretty amazing, and is a morale booster to other players as it proves that also unknowns in poker can win big prizes and accolades.

Side events

One of the main attractions of the Poker tournaments is the unusual side events hosted during the duration of the tournament. Some of the events held during this time include the Button, Mythical, and the Blinds Man’s Bluff among other side events. These events are meant to keep the family members and participants pre-occupied during the events.

Some of the renowned poker stars who have registered impressive wins in this tournament include Roland De Wolfe in 2006, Hendon Mobster Ram “crazy Horse”  Vaswani in 2004. For his effort De Wolfe pocketed $696,970 while his fellow Londoner Vaswani pocked $117,003.

Past winners of the event

Year Winner Prize money
2011 John Keown $141,703
2010 Nicholas Newport $174,605
2009 Michael O’Sullivan $215,000
2008 Fiachra Meere $192,278
2007 Reuben Peters $767,597
2006 Roland De Wolfe $696,970
2005 Mats Gavatin $382,522
2004 Ram Vaswani $117,003
2003 Lucy Rokach $73,191
2002 Rokach $27,138
2001 David Cleary $26,878

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Casinos
0.0 rating
0.0 rating
0.0 rating
0.0 rating
0.0 rating
0.0 rating
0.0 rating
4.0 rating
Bonus 400% up to $4000
Recent Comments